Maine's Governors

Since William King was inaugurated as Maine’s first governor on June 2, 1820, the state has been led by 70 men and one woman. The position held today by Janet Trafton Mills has been occupied by such notable figures in our history as Hannibal Hamlin, Abraham Lincoln’s first vice president; Abner Coburn, generous benefactor to Maine educational institutions; Joshua L. Chamberlain, Civil War hero at the Battle of Gettysburg; Percival P. Baxter, donor of Mount Katahdin to the state; and Edmund S. Muskie, champion of Federal environmental protection legislation.

Only two governors are not represented by pictures. Of the balance, four are shown in portraits and the rest in photographs. Photographic images dating back to the 1840s enable us to study with complete clarity the faces of the men who governed Maine during the first decades of statehood before the Civil War as well as their more recent successors. These pictures come from three sources, the Maine State Archives, the Maine Historical Society, and the Maine Historic Preservation Commission.

These pages are based upon research which I initially undertook in 2001 assisted by the Commission’s summer intern Adam M. Crowley of the University of Maine at Orono, now an Assistant Professor of English at Husson College in Bangor. At that point, the project was envisioned as a publication, but the ever expanding use of the internet during the last decade has led me to offer this information to a broader online audience. I want to thank the Friends of the Blaine House for hosting this information. 

Earle G. Shettleworth, Jr.
Maine State Historian


Governor Llewellyn Powers

Llewellyn Powers

DATE OF BIRTH:  October 14, 1836
PLACE OF BIRTH:  Pittsfield
DATE OF DEATH:  July 28, 1908
PROFESSION:  Lawyer, Timberland Owner
TERM IN OFFICE:  January 7, 1897 – January 3, 1901
FIRST LADY:  Martha A. Averill

QUOTE: The millennium when swords shall be beaten into ploughshares seems as yet some way off.

Inaugural Address, January 7,1897

OTHER ELECTED OR APPOINTED OFFICES: County Attorney for Aroostook County, Collector of Customs for Aroostook County, State Representative (Speaker of the House), Congressman


Kennebec Journal, Augusta, July 29, 1908.

Llewellyn Powers Memorial Addresses.  Washington: Government Printing Office, 1909.

McIntyre, Philip W. and Blanding, William F.  Men of Progress.  Boston: New England Magazine, 1897, pp. 251-252.


Home of Maine's Governors since 1919.
Visit Us

PO Box 68
Augusta, ME 04332